spacer.png, 0 kB
HOME
MANGALAWIKI
FORUM
2312 interviews & reviews V PDF Print E-mail
Written by Kimon   
Sunday, 07 October 2012 08:28

Pictured above: comparison of Martian rock outcrops with their Terran equivalent, proof of water on Mars by NASA's Curiosity rover!

A whole summer's worth of catching up with 2312 and Kim Stanley Robinson press coming up!

FDL Book Salon hosted a live web chat with Stan, where he interacted with members at length on a huge number of subjects! Highly recommended!

Blue Mars and the Mars trilogy is more utopian in many ways, and 2312 shows the darkening of the last 15 years of global history, the sense that things will stay a mess for a long time. But this may be true at the same time that progress is made in other areas, which ultimately may prevail. So I feel like 2312 also is utopian, but in the ongoing redefinition of utopia I have long been suggesting that it’s a name for a particular kind of struggle, and that it will go on for a long time and been pretty painful throughout. But with some good results!

My research these days is mostly on the internet, but also I phone scientists I know often, and I got Chris McKay to convene a lunch group at NASA/Ames in Mountain View and I went down and asked the eight or nine people there a couple hours of questions, it was great help.

SF Signal interviewed Stan on 2312, Mars and climate change:

One change I can say for sure, since the writing of the Mars trilogy:  I need always to say very clearly that Earth is and always will be the center of the human story, that Mars and the rest of the solar system can be helpful and interesting (even just as thought experiment  setting) but Earth has to be our focus for the next two centuries for sure, and really, for all history to come.  We all should remember that and act on that.

The About SF podcast interviewed Stan at length, with two episodes available totalling over an hour! Part 1 and Part 2 available. He discusses his research about the planet Mars for his trilogy, his inspiration for writing the novels, and his ambitions for writing science fiction.

Stan was interviewed for UK literary magazine Structo, Issue Eight, you can order it on their site.

Stan also presented 2312 on Google Talks, and answered audience questions.

 

Marina Abramovic, performance artist and inspiration for the character of Swan in 2312, mentioned Swan in an interview for the Wall Street Journal!

I also want to create a platform to work with scientists and with new technology. I had lunch a few months ago with Kim Stanley Robinson, a science-fiction writer who gave me a new book he wrote called "2312." I'm one of the characters in the book. He said, "I saw you at MoMA, and you are great for creating galactic troubles." So I am now doing performances on an asteroid near Mercury, just so you know.

 


With over four months in bookstores around the world, 2312 keeps getting reviews and reviews.

io9:

If this novel sounds like your typical post-human epic, however, it isn't. Absolutely it has space battles and AI orgies and moons being chopped up and hurled at planets. But it's also full of strange prose-poems about science and consciousness. And every few chapters, Robinson gives us a history lesson in fragments of text that hint at all the ways humanity has changed over the 300 hundred years between now and the year when the story takes place. In this way, 2312 is able to be more than just a simple story. It's a future history, a dream of all the complicated ways we might muddle through as a species, spreading out into space without ever really fixing all the old problems that have nearly extinguished us again and again.

West Coast Science:

It is a real rarity in contemporary fiction – especially genre fiction, but also in TV and movies – to find characters who are totally actualized, who speak with their own voice instead of the author’s voice, who are not just robots built to drive the machinery of the plot. Instead, each character is unique and together they interact in ways that totally make sense given this uniqueness.

And then there are even more reviews around for your reading pleasure! Moon and Back, Blog Critics, Wind City Times, Experts Column, Portland Book Review, Cross Roads, Yatterings, Otago Daily Times, Dansville Online, Sunny Reads, George Kelley, Fill Your Bookshelf, Paper Droids, Pease Exchange, Omnivoracious, MC Reviews, A-Kon, and a video review by Olivier's Book Club (part 1, part 2)....!

 

Comments
Add New Search
+/-
Write comment
Name:
Email:
 
Website:
Title:
UBBCode:
[b] [i] [u] [url] [quote] [code] [img] 
 
 
:D:):(:0:shock::confused:8):lol::x:P:oops::cry:
:evil::twisted::roll::wink::!::?::idea::arrow:
 
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.
MDJ  - Portland Book Review |2012-10-08 03:21:17
Thanks for the link to our site.
Jamie |2012-10-09 23:30:09
Hi, is there any way to contact mr Kim Stanley Robinson? Either online or by mail perhaps? I've looked but found nothing.
yingzijun  - http://www.louisvuittonoutlet-high.com |2014-03-11 07:09:27
supra footwear
ray ban
Celine Outlet Store
louis vuitton outlet
christian louboutin sale
true religion
timberland earthkeepers
celine outlet
tiffany
fendi bags
gucci handbags
ray ban sunglasses
air jordan 4
nike shoes
true religion jeans
red buttom shoes
prada
louis vuitton
dior handbags
ghd hair iron
ralph lauren outlet
ghd hair iron
oakley sunglasses outlet
hollister clothing
true religion
monster headphones
belstaff jackets
tory burch
fendi outlet
prada handbags
ghd flat iron
tiffany jewelry
timberland
coach store online
canada goose jackets
alexander wang
givenchy handbags
dolce gabbana
true religion jeans
prada handbags
north face outlet
abercrombie & fitch outlet
nfl football jerseys
jimmy choo outlet
true religion
goose outlet
insanity
barbour clothing
louis vuitton handbags
cheap nfl jerseys
belstaff clothing
ray ban
ghd hair iron
abercrombie and fitch
celine outlet
air jordan
jimmy choo sale
abercrombie & fitch outlet
p90x workout
ugg boots
versace shirts
MontBlanc Pens
mic...
Lorene Macht  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-05-07 22:00:02
Relaxing on the beach with hubby. Home in both cities where my son's live.
Lynsey Swope  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-05-30 17:49:50
Thanks Getty! We won't wait around for getting began!
Vivian Farlow  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-05-30 22:03:30
how can i change my billing info (or am i being stupid, here?)
iPhone 4 Unlock Sweden  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-06-03 06:02:17
Thank you for sharing this webpage, I just wish I had found it sooner! The way you have written this article is both articulate and informative simultaneously. That's quite an accomplishment, considering the subject matter addressed. I like to try and learn something everyday, and this page definitely enlightened me. Thanks. If it's okay with you, I'd like to put a link to your website from my Facebook page, I hope that's okay?
Florine Solgovic  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-06-03 13:43:00
A person essentially help to make seriously posts I would state. This is the first time I frequented your website page and thus far? I amazed with the research you made to make this particular publish amazing. Magnificent job!
Kathlene Lathon  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-06-03 23:42:59
Thank you for all your valuable effort on this site. Kate enjoys participating in investigations and it's easy to see why. All of us learn all regarding the powerful manner you present reliable guidelines via the blog and as well as strongly encourage participation from website visitors on the article then our daughter is actually studying a lot of things. Enjoy the rest of the new year. You're the one performing a first class job.
Sharron Leiberton  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-06-04 01:27:21
Wonderful goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely great. I actually like what you've acquired here, really like what you're stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it smart. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is really a wonderful website.
Language  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-06-05 13:58:31
Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and aid others like you aided me.
Dictionary  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-06-05 14:09:36
Fantastic goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you're just extremely fantastic. I really like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you're stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it smart. I cant wait to read much more from you. This is actually a terrific site.
Unlock 3G  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-06-06 10:22:21
Sods law isn't it - spending hours looking for something, only to stumble upon a webpage like yours that provides you everything in one location that you have just wasted hours searching for! What a refreshing and enlightening piece. Considering the material written about this is an impressive feat - give yourself a pat on the back. I like to try to learn something new everyday, and this page has certainly enlightened me. Thank you again for your efforts. I have placed a link to this page from my Google+ page, I hope that's okay?
Trademark  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-06-06 15:07:52
I gotta bookmark this website it seems invaluable handy
Power of Attorney Form  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-06-07 11:53:38
Hiya very nice web site!! Guy .. Excellent .. Wonderful .. I will bookmark your website and take the feeds also
Angelo Wisniewski  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-06-07 20:11:55
I am no longer certain the place you're getting your information, but good topic. I needs to spend some time studying much more or working out more. Thank you for excellent info I was in search of this information for my mission.
Shelton Cernuto  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-06-08 02:25:46
Thanks so much for providing individuals with an exceptionally special chance to read articles and blog posts from this website. It is usually so great and as well , packed with a good time for me personally and my office acquaintances to search your blog the equivalent of thrice in one week to see the newest guidance you will have. And definitely, I am actually contented considering the amazing secrets you serve. Selected 4 points in this post are undoubtedly the most effective we've had.
Modern Furniture  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-06-08 05:40:01
Magnificent site. A lot of helpful information here. I am sending it to a few pals ans also sharing in delicious. And naturally, thank you on your sweat!
Modern Furniture  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-06-09 05:44:40
You are my inspiration , I have few blogs and occasionally run out from to post .
Commercial Real Estate  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-06-09 23:58:18
I truly appreciate this post. I have been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thanks again!
Commercial Real Estate  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-06-11 00:39:47
I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I
Dental Insurance  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-06-11 21:22:38
Dead composed articles , regards for information .
Affordable SEO  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-06-11 21:23:51
I rattling delighted to find this website on bing, just what I was searching for : D also saved to favorites .
Life Insurance  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-06-13 03:14:39
You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be actually something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and very broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!
Gregg Fiotodimitrak  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-06-14 18:23:27
I think this is one of the most vital info for me. And i'm glad reading your article. But should remark on few general things, The website style is great, the articles is really excellent : D. Good job, cheers
Beach Wedding Dresses  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-06-15 10:56:09
Hello very nice website!! Man .. Excellent .. Amazing .. I'll bookmark your blog and take the feeds also
Bedemand Sveb  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-06-18 03:29:47
Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I?ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.
Billig Bis  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-06-18 07:01:45
I like this site, good and informative.
Begravelse Kalundborg  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-06-18 10:48:48
Numerous people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers! It is appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I've read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you some interesting things or advice. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article. I wish to read even more things about it!
Deanne Morden  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-06-27 10:41:57
Wow, wonderful blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is great, let alone the content!
Chanel Outlet  - Chanel Outlet |2014-07-02 09:37:28
Beer, because it bites the strong eye, had a thickness and black. Robert sat down Kate Spade Handbags again. Damn the Ned Stark you, ". barbourjacket.com.co Jon Arryn with you, I used to coach factory outlet love both of you.
tournaments. In King's Louis Vuitton Landing, distinguish between his size, with implacable louis vuitton luggage ferocity of his, when it fell the Kate Spade New York new-made knight of '17, he was with michael kors outlet the Lord Tywin. Then
"them, hungry dog coach factory outlet knows better than to bite the hand," LV Littlefinger is called bluntly. I drop chanel outlet the visor of his sound and Thunder kate spade bags Clegane audible beat, took up his
care Michael Kors Handbags of simple stable more, that Hodor made Kate Spade Bags ​​extremely small themall back in Winterfell, but Coach Outlet the knight, they I called Mountain vehicle LV outlet that had kate spade store online towered over Hodor. Arm
able michael kors to get it was on his feet and back to Jaime Lannister, but the helmet of gorgeous lion...
Chanel Bags |2014-07-05 01:15:57
Musikersuche ohne Risiko einkaufen Bem¨¹hungen . Inhalt der Webseite spielt sterben Wichtigste Rolle bei der herstellung der Webseite popul ? R. Die Webseite sollte Nicht -Nur gut gestaltet und
Glauben barbour outlet SIE , dass. DURCH this Weise k ? Nnen SIE Erwarten Wunder geschehen und kate spade outlet Website- your Unter den Top - Suchergebnissen der Suchmaschinen seins ? Nat¨¹rlich Nicht . coach outlet Your Webseite sollte
" Und Cade hatte nie hardfeelings . Weder habe Cathleen oder Louis Vuitton Raiford oder Herr Calvert . Es war nur so, dass Yankee whosqualled Stiefmutter und Louis Vuitton sagte, ich sei eine wilde Barbaren und anst?ndige
Sie , Brent . Ich denke, chanel outlet das bedeutet, dass wir nicht nach Europa zu gehen . Youknow Mutter sagte, wenn Kate Spade Outlet wir wurden von einem anderen College konnten wir nicht unsere Grand Tour ausgesto?en. "" barbour jackets
Einem professionellen unternehmen oder Experte Schriftsteller k ? Nnen SIE Sic...
Alexander Vanlew  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-07-09 12:50:11
It
Mariel Lifschitz  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-07-12 01:18:12
I'm very happy to read this. This is the kind of manual that needs to be given and not the random misinformation that is at the other blogs. Appreciate your sharing this best doc.
Rico Jarboe  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-07-12 12:44:56
I have recently started a site, the information you offer on this website has helped me greatly. Thank you for all of your time & work. "The more sand that has escaped from the hourglass of our life, the clearer we should see through it." by Jean Paul.
Fairy Stempien  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-07-14 10:20:17
I have not checked in here for a while as I thought it was getting boring, but the last several posts are good quality so I guess I'll add you back to my daily bloglist. You deserve it my friend :)
how do I improve my credit sco  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-07-15 10:25:25
Merely a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw outstanding pattern. "The price one pays for pursuing a profession, or calling, is an intimate knowledge of its ugly side." by James Arthur Baldwin.
dispute credit report  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-07-17 01:28:19
Woh I your blog posts, saved to fav! .
louis vuitton handbags  - louis vuitton handbags |2014-07-24 02:38:01
ow go think about the past, what does this mean for you Harlech: like 11 years ago to do a kate spade handbags nightmare, very long, and now finally woke up.Beijing News: Now to Louis Vuitton be very hard to earn a two thousand, money does not kate spade bags come easily in the past.Harlech: This is the most accustomed to, Louis Vuitton Outlet Handbags and I came back sold roasted whole lamb, fried chicken sold LV Bags in the night market is now open electric tricycle, which is barbour jackets hard work, can not earn much money. Sometimes I also his louis vuitton outlet mother, the money goes easy in the past ah. Mom
he phone gucci bags afterwards. When I started to really rely on your hands to Coach Outlet Online make money, people often think of those before, I can not Louis Vuitton remember their faces, they do not know who I am, but official ray ban I feel sorry for them.I go online to read more about Kate Spade Bags Xinjiang news, a lot of Kate Spade Outlet things ...
bad credit repair companies  - 2312 interviews & reviews V - KimStanleyRobins |2014-07-24 03:16:18
I have recently started a blog, the information you provide on this website has helped me greatly. Thank you for all of your time & work.
Last Updated on Sunday, 07 October 2012 10:29
 
spacer.png, 0 kB
spacer.png, 0 kB