Mars trilogy

From MangalaWiki
Jump to: navigation, search

The Mars trilogy is a work by Kim Stanley Robinson, often considered to be Robinson's magnum opus and his most well-known work. Robinson also wrote a companion volume composed of short stories and essays often taking place in the same universe, The Martians.

M1 Red Mars.jpg

Red Mars

M2 Green Mars.jpg

Green Mars

M3 Blue Mars.jpg

Blue Mars

M4 The Martians.jpg

The Martians

The trilogy follows the colonization of Mars and later the entire solar system, complete with the technological, moral, social and political evolution that accompanies it, spanning 200 years of future history. Made after an extensive research period and reaching 2000 pages, many of Robinson's previous novels, such as Icehenge and Pacific Edge are in many ways precursors to the trilogy in themes or setting. Each novel takes its name from the color of the planet Mars as it evolves through the process of terraforming.

Key pages

The Mars trilogy
Characters Principal: John Boone · Frank Chalmers · Nadia Cherneshevsky · Ann Clayborne · Michel Duval · Nirgal · Art Randolph · Sax Russell · Maya Toitovna · Zo

Supporting: Hiroko Ai · Arkady Bogdanov · Peter Clayborne · Desmond "Coyote" Hawkins · Jackie · Kasei

Places Stellar bodies: Terra · Mars (Phobos, Deimos, Clarke) · Solar system

Martian settlements: Underhill · Burroughs · Sheffield · Sabishii · Zygote · Dorsa Brevia · Odessa · Da Vinci

Groups First Hundred · Areophany · UNOMA/UNTA · Reds (Kakaze, Marsfirst) · Greens · Free Mars · Praxis · The underground
Events Timeline · 1st Revolution · Dorsa Brevia Conference · 2nd Revolution · Pavonis Mons Congress · 3rd Revolution
Concepts Glossary · Terraforming · Areoformation · Space elevator · Longevity treatment · Eco-economics · Ecopoesis
Red Mars · Green Mars · Blue Mars · The Martians