14 Nov 2019

After Ursula @UC Santa Cruz

Submitted by Kimon

Fall 2019 Living Writers Series at UC Santa Cruz: Autobiography, Fairy Tales, The Future

Event with KSR: After Ursula

Thursday November 14
7:10 PM
Humanities Lecture Hall
UC Santa Cruz

Autobiography, Fairy Tales, The Future is the name of this fall’s installment of the Living Writers Series at UC Santa Cruz.

Curated by Micah Perks, professor of literature and co-director of the UCSC Creative Writing Program, the series runs through December 5 on Thursday nights at the Humanities Lecture Hall.
[...] “And I'm particularly excited about our reading, “After Ursula,” which will feature four brilliant writers, Molly Gloss, Nisi Shawl, Karen Joy Fowler and Kim Stanley Robinson, all mentored by Ursula Le Guin, who will read and talk about the state of speculative fiction after the loss of their beloved teacher and friend.”  

[...] On November 14, four renowned writers-- Karen Joy Fowler, Molly Gloss, Nisi Shawl and Kim Stanley Robinson--will participate in a conversation centered around sci/fi speculative fiction author Ursula LeGuin, who recently died in 2018.

American science fiction writer Kim Stanley Robinson is the author of more than 20 books, including Red Moon, New York 2140, Aurora, Shaman, Green Earth, and 2312. He was sent to the Antarctic by the U.S. National Science Foundation’s Antarctic Artists and Writers’ Program in 1995, and in 2008 he was named a “Hero of the Environment” by Time magazine. Robinson works with the Sierra Nevada Research Institute, the Clarion Writers’ Workshop, and UC San Diego’s Arthur C. Clarke Center for Human Imagination. His books have been translated into 25 languages, and won numerous awards in five countries, including the Hugo, Nebula, Locus, and World Fantasy awards.

Santa Cruz author Karen Joy Fowler is the author of six novels, including Sarah Canary and The Jane Austen Book Club, and three short story collections, including What I Didn’t See. Her most recent novel We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves, was published by Putnam in May 2013 and won the Pen Faulkner award that year.  

Molly Gloss is the author of several novels, including The Jump-Off Creek, The Dazzle of Day, Wild Life, The Hearts of Horses and Falling From Horses, as well as the story collection Unforeseen. She writes both realistic fiction and science fiction, and her novels have received, among other honors, a PEN West Fiction Prize, an Oregon Book Award, two Pacific Northwest Booksellers Awards, the James Tiptree, Jr. Award, and a Whiting Writers Award. 

Nisi Shawl wrote the 2016 Nebula finalist, Everfair, and the 2008 Tiptree Award-winning collection Filter House. In 2005, she also co-wrote Writing the Other: A Practical Approach, a standard text on inclusive representation in the imaginative genres. Her stories have appeared in such publications as Strange Horizons and Asimov’s Science Fiction magazine. She edited the anthology, New Suns: Original Speculative Fiction by People of Color; and co-edited Stories for Chip: A Tribute to Samuel R. Delany and Strange Matings: Science Fiction, Feminism, African American Voices, and Octavia E. Butler

Event page