Orange County trilogy

The Orange County trilogy, or the Orange County triptych, or yet the Three Californias are three novels by Kim Stanley Robinson that explore three different possible futures for Orange County, where Robinson lived as a youth, that can also be seen as variations on three common types of science fiction stories:

  • the post-apocalyptic
  • the dystopia
  • the utopia

The three novels are:

The Wild Shore 

The Gold Coast 

Pacific Edge 

Themes and leitmotivs

The three novels share some characteristics and themes, and one character.