Forty Signs Of Rain is the first volume of the Science In The Capital trilogy. It was published in 2004.

In Washington, DC, the National Science Foundation guides science on its usual procedures of peer-reviewed boards and budget allocations. Politics are little concerned of climate change. The arrival of the Khembali, a buddhist sect whose native island is in danger of being flooded, heralds some important changes.

The Years of Rice and Salt is an alternative history novel published in 2002. Its working title was A World Without Europe. In the 14th century Anno Domini, the Black Plague decimates Europe. The Muslim, Indian and Chinese civilizations are the ones that will drive world history, through hardships and wars, discoveries and revolutions.

Antarctica is Robinson's first novel published after the success of the Mars trilogy, published in 1997. It was written as a result of Robinson's experience in the continent itself during a visit organized by the "Artists & Writers" program of the National Science Foundation in 1995.

Blue Mars is the third volume of the Mars trilogy. It was first published in 1996.

Of much greater scope in space and time compared to the first two volumes, Blue Mars follows the characters we have come to know and love as Mars achieves independence and social justice and is successfully turned into an Earth-like planet that sustains life.

Green Mars is the second volume of the Mars trilogy. It was first published in 1993.

After the failed revolution in Red Mars, the survivors gather in the Martian underground and plan for the day they will achieve independence from Earth. But the agendas of the numerous groups of the underground differ greatly.

Red Mars is the first novel of the Mars trilogy, published to great acclaim in 1992.

It tells of the beginnings of the colonization of Mars, the beginnings of the efforts to terraform it and the tensions resulting from corporate forces from Earth exerting their influence on the developing Martian culture.


(to develop)


Festival Night

Point of view: Frank

The Voyage Out

Point of view: Maya

The Crucible

Point of view: Nadia

Pacific Edge is part of the Orange County trilogy. It was published in 1990.

In a future California after a revolution in legislature, an ecological utopia has been reached. But greed and grief still exist.

In many ways, Pacific Edge presents Robinson's most accomplished utopia and served as a basis for ideas explored in the Mars trilogy.

The Gold Coast is part of the Orange County trilogy. It was published in 1988.

In a future California where technology has run wild and everywhere is an urban sparwl, a young English teacher tries to find love, meaning and a way to make things right.

Icehenge is a novel published in 1984 consisting of three stories that are connected through time: two previously published short stories and a third one.

Human civilization has to cope with space travel, memory loss brought about by a life span expanded to a thousand years, and historical revisionism.


Subscribe to novel