Mars trilogy

The Mars trilogy is a work by Kim Stanley Robinson, often considered to be Robinson's magnum opus and his most well-known work. Robinson also wrote a companion volume composed of short stories and essays often taking place in the same universe, The Martians.

Red Mars 

Green Mars 

Blue Mars 

The Martians 
Companion volume (1999)

The trilogy follows the colonization of Mars and later the entire solar system, complete with the technological, moral, social and political evolution that accompanies it, spanning 200 years of future history. Made after an extensive research period and reaching 2000 pages, many of Robinson's previous novels, such as Icehenge and Pacific Edge are in many ways precursors to the trilogy in themes or setting. Each novel takes its name from the color of the planet Mars as it evolves through the process of terraforming.

Key pages